The Bubble Bead

Once again, I have dug into my stash of Sarah Moran beads.  My hand grasped this large bubble bead and I knew it was just the perfect focal for a pendant I had in mind.  It is so tactile!  The bead spins with wild abandon on a simple copper tube through which a heavy 16 gauge sterling silver wire runs.  The ends of the wire curl inward.  As if on a trapeze, this piece is attached to a short length of hammered bent 14 gauge sterling silver wire suspended by a ring so there is a lot of movement going on.  I love jewelry that is kinetic!  The vibrant orange, red, and gold colors of the bead also hide a hint of green…a nice surprise when viewed from the side!  Sarah has an Etsy shop which you may want to check out and on some Thursday evenings she features a “Super Stars” sale when she sells several groupings of beads.  They go so fast…I’ve been lucky on one occasion to purchase a set of beads before they were snapped up.  Of course, one can always special order beads from Sarah too!

~ by BarbaraBriggsDesigns on March 2, 2010.

2 Responses to “The Bubble Bead”

  1. Such a unique pendant! I really like this idea.

  2. Thanks Sarah! Your beads always inspire me to make something understated and elegant so the beads can be the main focus. I’m hoping to get my hands on some of those cool boro beads one of these days!

Leave a Reply

 
