Eat Your Vegetables!

It was springtime when I created this neck piece. The winter had been long and so very cold and my thoughts were focused on renewal and growth of all kinds.  I was heavily into the art of enameling then and working with color was refreshing.  This neck piece  is titled “Eat Your Vegetables”, but it could just as easily have been called “The Fruits of One’s Labor”, I guess.  At any rate, this has been a fun piece to wear and it never fails to receive comments.  The leaves are fabricated from sterling silver sheet.   An Amazonite stone is bezel set in the clasp.  I enjoy wearing this to cooking classes I attend every now and then at the Great Galena Cookery!

~ by BarbaraBriggsDesigns on March 18, 2010.

3 Responses to “Eat Your Vegetables!”

  1. This is fab, what did you do the enameling on, does it have to be fired?? I know these are probably stupid questions, but I am new to jewelry making…I am so impressed with all you do…so happy to have found your blog and site..

    • Thank you so much Carol! There are no stupid questions and I’m happy to answer your inquiry. This is enamel on 18 gauge copper and the enamel pieces were fired in a kiln at 1650 degrees. Many people do not understand how much work and how many firings are involved in creating a single piece. Most of my enameled pieces went through twelve separate firings before I set them in bezels and made them into jewelry. You can torch fire, but the outcome is very different. There are many good books on enameling which can give you a lot of information. One of my favorites is “The Art of Enameling: Techniques, Projects, Inspiration” by Linda Darty.

      • Thank you so much for the information, I will order the book, I am an realistic artist and have painted for years so this really did take my eye. I am sure the process is very detailed, I can recognize how much went into this type jewelry. Even If I do not try it, I will enjoy reading about it. Thanks again, Carol

Leave a Reply

 
