Friday at Bead and Button

Have you ever taken a class from Marcia DeCoster?  This was a first for me and I can tell you that she is delightful, as is her helper, Liz. This is a photo of Marcia with her lovely beaded pieces displayed for the class to enjoy.  I have admired Marcia’s beadwork for some time and was very pleased to have had the opportunity to explore her right angle weave “Crystal Medallion” pattern in class last Friday.  I don’t know yet what I will make with this technique or in what design a variation of the stitch will appear.  Although I take classes at the show, I never make the project as shown,  preferring instead to use the technique in a design of my own.   I will often use materials and beads that vary from the supplies that are called for and add  a totally different stitch to the mix.  Sometimes, discoveries happen on their own and sometimes you just have to take a chance and make them happen!

~ by BarbaraBriggsDesigns on June 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
