Nautilus Ring

Have I mentioned that I really like  big rings?  I’m rather petite, but I like jewelry that makes a statement!  My “Nautilus” ring measures three centimeters in diameter.  The nautilus shell is made from clear Ice Resin that I mixed with a bit of yellow and blue oil paint to achieve a soft “sunlit ocean” green, then poured into a mold and cured.  I threw in a tiny sprinkle of fairy dust (aka glitter) too!  It lies nestled inside two 24 gauge sterling silver discs.  The inner disc was formed by snipping narrow sections around the edge, then bending them in spirals with a round-nose pliers.  The outer disc was formed by making undulating ripples along the edge with both round and flat-nose pliers.  I used 12 gauge hard argentium silver wire for the shank and ring band, torch forming a decorative ball at the end to insert through the nautilus and discs.  I then torched a ball at the opposite end of the wire, wrapped the wire around a ring mandrel, and wrapped the extending wire around the stem of wire protruding from the discs.  I think I’m going to enjoy wearing this ring!

~ by BarbaraBriggsDesigns on September 25, 2010.

2 Responses to “Nautilus Ring”

  1. Beautiful!I also love big rings,though my hands are not big enough for them.This piece of yours makes a statement

    Like

  2. I love that this ring swivels and spins too!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.