Recycling and Repurposing…

is something I do with jewelry when I’ve tired of a piece or have a better use for it.  In this case I had a pair of metal clay earrings that hadn’t sold (one earring is shown on the right).  I decided to make a pendant with one of the earrings.  I removed the gear-like disk from its chain and earpost, placed it in a dapping block, and formed it into a domed shape.  A small bronze disk was placed on a length of 16 gauge argentium silver wire with a ball end tip, inserted through the center, and formed into a bail.  A drilled beach pebble dangles on 18 gauge wire at the bottom.  I’ll come up with  idea for the other earring eventually.

~ by BarbaraBriggsDesigns on January 6, 2011.

4 Responses to “Recycling and Repurposing…”

  1. Oooh, I like it!

  2. I have to thank “Polymer Clay Daily” for leading me to your website today. Your work is so..very…beautiful! Every once in a while, I’ll click on a website and see something that leaves me speechless for a while as I stare at every new photo. Today, it’s your work. Thanks for some joyful viewing. I’ll certainly be back.

  3. Polymer Clay Daily got my attention when guitar strings were mentioned. I was attracted to your site as I am a hardware junkie. I take everything apart and remove every piece of metal and repurpose it into one of a kind. I’m glad to see someone else out there doing similar stuff. Except, yours is creatively awesome. Love it!!

Leave a Reply

 
