Back at the Bench!

A new tool just arrived!  It’s the Knew Concepts jeweler’s saw frame made by Lee Marshall of Bonny Doon Engineering…and it’s fabulous!   Made of rigid aluminum and weighing in at a mere 3.4 ounces, it cuts like butter!  Sawing has never been my forté and I’ve broken dozens of saw blades over the years, but this saw may change all that.  Because it is so rigid and has such a strong frame, the blade cannot torque and break as easily.  And because the saw is so lightweight, my arm does not tire as easily.  You may wonder why the frame is painted red.  The reason is that clinical trials have shown that the color red promotes accuracy.  I really used to dread sawing, but I think I’ll love sawing from now on!

~ by BarbaraBriggsDesigns on January 14, 2011.

4 Responses to “Back at the Bench!”

  1. This saw looks interesting. I have been saw shopping lately and trying to decide not only which saw but what size. I am just beginning to do some metal working.

    What size is the one you have? I am contemplating a 5 inch.

    I noticed at Knew’s site they don’t seem to sell blades ( unless I missed them)…do you have any recomendations for a good brand and source for them?

    • I have the five inch saw. Three inches is sometimes not large enough if you’re sawing a bangle or anything larger than three inches out of sheet metal or Faux Bone. I’ve never in my plus twenty years as a metalsmith had need for an eight inch saw. Five seems just right. The Knew Concepts saw is a bit pricey compared to a standard saw, but these tools last forever, so if you can afford to buy the best quality tool, it is actually a smart investment. Good tools save you money in the long run because they don’t need to be replaced. As for blades, I buy most of my tools and supplies through OttoFrei.com or RioGrande.com (both are reliable companies known for quality merchandise and great service). Hope this info helps, Michelle!

  2. Thank you so much for the info. It really helps this new person to get advice from a more experienced one.
    I had meant to say before that your bench is really nice the shape looks ideal for working on metal.

  3. I love my jeweler’s bench! It’s from OttoFrei.com and it’s super sturdy with two banks of drawers. It takes a beating with all the hammering I do, but it will last a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

 
