More epoxy resin clay pieces to use in jewelry!

I’ve used my entire tube of epoxy resin clay (note to self:  must get more!) and I love the “cement” look and color it imparts.  I’ll use these pieces as focal cabochons in brooches, pendants, and rings.  I really like the way the clay takes textural impressions. Several of these pieces are textured on the back as well making them reversible. I’ve added water-slide transfers to the backs of some, which carry the theme of the texture that is on the reverse side.   I have a lot of ideas for their use so I’m heading to the studio where I will wield my jeweler’s saw and hammers and create something new!

~ by BarbaraBriggsDesigns on May 4, 2012.

3 Responses to “More epoxy resin clay pieces to use in jewelry!”

  1. Barbara…where do you get water slide transfers and what brand do you use? Also, what brand of Epoxy Resin Clay? Would you do a post for all of us beginners in clay about what types of projects epoxy resin works better than polymer clay?? What are the advanatges other than no baking? Is it mostly the textural aspect?
    Many thanks, Pam

  2. Pam, I used Sherri Habb’s “KlayResin” for these pieces. I haven’t used any other brands, but I will be ordering more epoxy resin clay and doing some experimenting. The main advantage for me is that it doesn’t have to be baked. It has a short working time (4 – 7 minutes after mixing) so you have to know what you’re doing and have “all your ducks in a row”, so to speak before you mix it. In this light it is not as forgiving as polymer clay which can be manipulated again and again before baking. The water-slide transfers I used in these pieces are from Lisa Pavelka. If you do an engine search, you will probably find other sources as well. I’ll be doing a more in-depth post regarding all your questions after I’ve had more time to research other brands and work with them.

    • tHANKS FOR TAKING THE TIME TO REPLY SO QUICKLY. LOOKING FORWARD TO ALL YOUR “EXPERIMENTS”!

Leave a Reply

 
