Report from the Show…

It was a whirlwind trip to the Bead&Button Show…a four hour drive to Milwaukee on Thursday and a repeat back home on Friday.  I solely went to just do some floor show shopping and to take a class with Susan Lenart Kazmer (more about the class in my next post!).  Attendance at last year’s show was down considerably…this year attendance was down even more.  Several years ago there were well over 500 vendors at the show, but this year it seemed there were about half that amount. Sadly, many of the vendors who have really unique and interesting wares to sell were absent. In the past attendees were tripping over each other and sometimes one couldn’t even get close enough to see what a vendor was selling!  No problem this year…you could have thrown a bowling down an aisle and not a single person would have to jump out of the way!  Granted, I was only there for two days so I hope traffic picked up over the weekend when the show is open to the public.  Below is my stash from the floor show…very little compared to what I brought home from previous shows.


Here are a few highlights from the Bead Dreams display on the floor show. 

This colorful bead-embroidered neckpiece was created by Sherry Serafini.


“The Beauty in the Bees” neckpiece below won Best in Show for Tatiana Fitzpatrick.

 

Below is Amy Johnson’s “Secret Garden” bead-embroidered neckpiece.

One can only imagine the hours that went into the creation of these pieces.  

And can you believe the crystal-studded Porsche shown below!

I’ll post a show and tell about my class with Susan Lenart Kazmer later!

~ by BarbaraBriggsDesigns on June 10, 2017.

6 Responses to “Report from the Show…”

  1. ::sigh:: I would have loved to have been there. Bet you walked away with all kinds of ideas.

  2. I just returned from shopping at the show. I haven’t been there for a few years and knew things had changed, but was still Sad. I agree that many of the vendors that were truly unique were missing and I was really surprised at how small the crowd was. Wow! The atmosphere was rather lackluster, in contrast to the excitement and energy of years past. Is it only me? I found some good things but sure didn’t need to be there as long as I used to.

    • Deb, I spoke with several artists who had booths at the show as well as attendees and they all agreed that the show had really changed from past years! I used to spend two to three days shopping the show, but after less than three hours I had seen everything and was ready to head back to the hotel. I wouldn’t be surprised if the show ends up getting cancelled in future years. If it weren’t for the fact that Susan Lenart Kazmer was teaching at the show, I would have skipped going.

  3. Barbara, this is so very sad to hear, as the Bead & Button Show was one of the highlights I looked forward to every year. One year, I was there for 10 days, participating in workshops for most of those days. But my interest and enthusiasm for the show has gradually declined the past 2 or 3 years, and I didn’t bother to go at all this year. Apparently I’m not the only regular who felt/feels this way. I’ve even canceled my magazine subscription as it no longer provides inspiration or motivation. Now I do more knitting than beadwork, but beads are incorporated into my knitting. 🙂

    • Marilyn, I’ve found in life everything is cyclical and the newest, hottest, best things will get old only to be replaced by something else that is new and different. Nothing is forever so it’s good that we can move on and incorporate our creativity into new passions. Working in other mediums helps to keep creativity fresh and passion alive!

Leave a Reply

 
