I’ve been watching Boris Karloff again in…

A screenshot from The Mummy Italiano: Uno scre...

“The Mummy” – one of my all time favorite classic horror flicks!  As a kid you would find me in front of the TV every Friday night watching spooky movies.  Promptly at 9:00 p.m., my friends and I would tune in to watch anything macabre – Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, Frankenstein (which scared me witless!), Dracula (I slept with a rosary that glowed in the dark hanging on my bed to keep Dracula from biting me!), and more.  The scarier the movie,s the more I loved them!

My work is often influenced by what I see and experience.  I’ve been known to create medieval themed pieces whenever I watch “Elizabeth”, “The Tudors” or any other film that transports my imagination to that period in history.   This pendant was inspired by “The Mummy”.  Having been raised in a small town, movies took me to destinations and fed me stories that I could only dream of.  I’ll always be hooked on movies!  The Ankh, which symbolizes eternal life, is part of my “Princess Ananka” collection.  It is made of heavily textured bronze metal clay that has been darkened to accentuate the various reliefs that embellish this piece.  The tiny embedded “Fire Opals” are actually poured resin. A textured and antiqued sterling silver chain adds the finishing touch to this piece.   

~ by BarbaraBriggsDesigns on April 15, 2012.

3 Responses to “I’ve been watching Boris Karloff again in…”

  1. Barbara…cool…new photo, new glasses…very professional!

    Like

  2. The talent just keeps on coming!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.