One of life’s little frustrations is…

switching from a PC to a Mac.  I’ve used PCs for the past twenty years and  I’ve been comfortable with my Microsoft programs, familiar with their layout and how they function.  But as my latest four-year old PC  has been crashing constantly, it was time to find a replacement and I decided a Mac might be really nice.  Everyone I’ve talked with who owns a Mac endorsed them with great enthusiasm.  So I bit the bullet and got a Macbook Pro and I’m finding there are vast differences in the operating systems.  The Apple tech transferred the files from my PC to the new Mac and said “You’re good to go!” Wrong!!!  I’m not good to go and am definitely in foreign territory…like I’ve landed in another country that speaks a different language.  Here’s one example…every beading pattern I’ve written containing step by step photos transferred to the Mac in document form only.  The photos are gone!  Can you feel my frustration building?  I’m hoping that when I install Photoshop Elements on the Mac, the photos will magically reappear in the patterns where they are supposed to be.  Is that just wishful thinking?   I’m positive that I will love my Macbook when I get to know it, but I think I’m in for a wild ride and a steep learning curve.  Thank goodness I still have my PC in the interim.  Now if I can just get it to stop crashing!

~ by BarbaraBriggsDesigns on August 28, 2011.

6 Responses to “One of life’s little frustrations is…”

  1. Barbara, we bought a Mac five years ago (actually two Macs, a desktop and a laptop) and have never looked back! Once you get the hang of it, you will bless the day you bought it, I promise. You’ll work out the bugs, cal your guy and ask him. I don’t now if you even need Photoshop Elements – IPhoto (should have come with your Mac) is quite a program and should be able to do everything you. Good luck,you will LOVE it!!

  2. Lynn, thanks for your vote of confidence! I know I will love it eventually. At present I’m just “a babe in the woods” and can’t find anything in the usual places! It tools me a long, long time to find myself around my old PC. I hope it doesn’t take as long with the Mac, but I won’t delude myself…it probably will!

  3. Well, lucky thing you got it just in time for the upcoming long weekend so you can stay home and play on it all day without feeling guilty for not working! Perfect timing – good luck.

    • Wish I had time to work with it over the long weekend. But I’ll be tethered to my workbench for the next two weeks making jewelry for my Trunk Show at Brio Gallery in Galena, IL. I’m afraid it’s going to be a while before I can devote a big block of time to learning the ways of the Mac!

  4. I’ve been toying with the idea of a Mac, myself. Your post couldn’t come at a more opportune time. I do appreciate the encouragement from Lynn. I keep thinking that Mac is the best choice. I love your ‘Mummy’ inspired pendant! Beautiful work and what a great idea! Your Trunk Show at Brio Gallery is going to be fabulous! Good luck learning the ways of the Mac. You may have a kindred spirit in Texas. With my PC on it’s last leg, I may be tripping my way through a Mac soon.

Leave a Reply

 
